A different kind of Friday

Standard

Sometimes, instead of Fiber Fridays, I have FU Fridays – meaning Effed Up Fridays, of course.  Those are the fridays where the Fibromyalgia is badly flared and there’s a buttload of stuff to be done and simply no energy to do it.

I’ve tried in the past, but I just can’t find a good way to describe a Fibro Flare… except that in the bad ones, your skin hurts, and in the really bad ones, your hair hurts, and everything is too loud and too bright, and your limbs feel heavy, like you’re trying to walk through the shallow end of a pool that’s been filled with lime jello.  I don’t know why it’s lime jello, just go with it.

You’re tired, the kind of tired where you can think straight but getting the words to go from your brain to your mouth is an effort.  All you feel up to is laying on the couch, pretending you’re not watching Days of Our Lives, dozing and listening to Anderson Cooper trying to be a sucessful talk show host… But you HAVE to get up and move. If you don’t you’ll hurt even worse tomorrow, because that’s just the way Fibromyalgia is.

Yes, this is an FU Friday.  Thankfully it’s only a medium flare, so I’m functional… more or less.  I’m annoyed about it.  Trying NOT to be annoyed, because wow, what a waste of my limited energy… So I’m going to flip Fibro a magnificently elegant bird and go work on my ittybitty container garden, out in the sunshine.

Happy Weekend, all two of you reading… 🙂

One response »

  1. I’ve never known what a fibro flare-up is like so this description is interesting. Honestly, I have no idea how you stand it but I hope they come as infrequently as possible.

Leave a Reply

